Thank You from the Council!

The Northwest Mountain Minority Supplier Development Council thanks everyone who made the 2017 Annual Awards Dinner & Silent Auction quite a remarkable evening!  Thank you to Phyllis Gutierrez Kenney, our Annual Sponsors, Silent Auction Donors and participants, volunteers, DoubleTree and PSAV staff, the Zones tech team and everyone who attended the event.

The Council presented the most prestigious Supplier Diversity Leadership and Advocacy Awards for corporations, public agencies and minority business enterprises (MBEs) that exemplified business leadership and commitment to excellence in supplier diversity, development and advocacy.

The Boeing Company won the National Corporation of the Year Award and Seattle Public Utilities won the Public Agency of the Year Award.  Leadership Awards recognized outstanding corporate and public agency members who exemplified supplier diversity success, minority business development and actively supported Council events, programs and advocacy.

For minority business enterprises, Leadership Awards were presented for excellent performance in all aspects of business, commitment to their communities and supplier diversity success.  The winners were Trio Group, Supplier of the Year – Class II; Ryan’s Hood River Juice Company, Supplier of the Year – Class III and World Wide Technology, Inc., Supplier of the Year – Class IV.

Advocacy Awards were presented to individuals who excelled as supplier diversity advocates.  Every year, three awards are given to business owners, executives or employees of companies or organizations who exemplified the commitment and dedication to creating business opportunities and advancing the development of minority business success through the Council. 

The Robert L. Ryan Award, named after the Council founder and presented to a corporate executive or employee, was given to Megan Rast for her contributions as Supplier Diversity Manager for T-Mobile U.S.A., Inc.

The John A. Gilmore Award, presented to a Council certified minority business owner or employee who exemplified the spirit of activism and business expansion by strongly advocating for fellow MBEs of the Council was given to James Christiansen of Kalani Packaging.

The Champion Award, presented to an individual employed by a government agency or higher learning institution who exemplified the commitment and dedication to creating business opportunities and advancing the development of minority business success through the Council and the community, was given to Michael Verchot of the University of Washington Foster School of Business Consulting and Business Development Center.

Phyllis Gutierrez Kenney, Washington State politician and strong proponent of minority education and equal opportunity, was the Guest of Honor and Inaugural Recipient.  Beginning in 2018, the Champion Award will be renamed the Phyllis Gutierrez Kenney Award to recognize outstanding public agency employees or representatives for their achievements and contributions to supplier diversity and development.

The final award for the evening, The President’s Award, was presented to Gary Sheneman of Microsoft Corporation for outstanding contributions to the Council as Board Chairperson, Courage in addressing difficult challenges, and Leadership Advocacy for MBEs.

Read the Full Story

Annual Silent Auction

We raised $7,760 from the Annual Silent Auction (plus $600 pending), including cash donations.  Many thanks to everyone who bought silent auction items and special thanks to Silent Auction Donors. The Annual Silent Auction benefits the Northwest Mountain MSDC Scholarship Fund. 

Every year, the Northwest Mountain MSDC awards over $20,000 in scholarship dollars to minority-owned businesses, primarily as a result of donations received at Council events and fundraisers. Over the last 8 years the Council has provided over $200,000 in Minority Business Scholarships.

Read More

Congratulations to 2017 Awardees!




The Boeing Company

National Corporation of the Year


Seattle Public Utilities

Public Agency of the Year


Trio Group

Supplier of the Year Class II


Ryan’s Hood River Juice Company

Supplier of the Year Class III


World Wide Technology, Inc.

Supplier of the Year Class IV




Megan Rast

T-Mobile USA, Inc.

Robert L. Ryan Award


James Christiansen

Kalani Packaging

John A. Gilmore Award


Michael Verchot

University of Washington

The Champion Award


Phyllis Gutierrez Kenney

Phyllis Gutierrez Kenney Award


President’s Award

Gary Sheneman

Microsoft Corporation


Plaque of Appreciation

Vicky Schiantarelli

Seattle Public Utilities


Read More

Council Presentation

The Council presentation by Fernando Martinez during the 2017 Annual Awards Dinner & Silent Auction is now available on the Council website.  

To view or download the PDF version of the presentation, visit:

Event Photos

Watch Video

Watch the Facebook LIVE video recorded during the 2017 Annual Awards Dinner.

The event was held at the DoubleTree Southcenter Grand Ballroom in Tukwila, Washington on March 9th, 2017.


Find us online: 


Annual Sponsors